Connect with us


It’s now official! INEC declares Obaseki winner of Edo governorship poll 



The governor of Edo State, Godwin Obaseki, and candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, has been declared winner of the September 19 governorship election in the state.

Mr Obaseki defeated Osagie Ize-Iyamu of the All Progressives Congress, APC, to win a second term as governor of Edo State.

INEC Returning Officer for the poll declared the governor as the winner on Sunday in Benin City, saying Mr Obaseki scored the highest number of votes.

Mr Obaseki secured 307,955 votes to defeat his closest rival, Mr Ize-Iyamu who polled 223,619.

The announcement by the returning officer follows the collation of the results from all the 18 Local Government Areas of Edo where the election was conducted.

A total of 14 political parties fielded candidates to jostle for the office of the governor in the state.

It is the first governorship poll to be conducted by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, since the outbreak of coronavirus (COVID-19) in the country.

While it held in some places in line with the COVID-19 protocols of the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control, NCDC, the compliance level was very low in other polling areas.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Copyright © 2018 Daily correspondents