Connect with us


Buhari appoints ‘task force for coronavirus control’



President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, and 11 others as members of the Presidential Task Force for the Control of Coronavirus (COVID-19).

Nigeria is one of the countries which have reported at least a case of the Covid-19 since it was detected in Wuhan, China in December.

As at the time of this report, Nigeria now has two confirmed cases of the disease.

The first was reported on February 28 in an Italian businessman who had flown into the country on business.

The second case was reported on March 8, in one of the people who had contact with the Italian.

‘Control’ team

According to a statement signed by Garba Shehu, Senior Special Assistant to the President on Media and Publicity, the panel was established owing to the current global outbreak and its potential of causing significant disruption to health services in the country as well as impacting negatively on the economy

“This action is in preparation for the unlikely but probable major outbreak of the disease in the country which will require a multi-sectoral inter-governmental approach as advised by the World Health Organisation (WHO) similar to that adopted for the HIV epidemic in the last two decades,” he added.

He said the group would be expected to deliver within a maximum period of six months.

The federal government on Monday equally set up a team to assess the impact of the outbreak on its 2020 budget and economy in the light of crashing global prices of crude oil.

Below is the list of the Presidential Task Force (control) members

a. Boss Mustapha (SGF) – Chair

b. Dr. Sani Aliyu – National Coordinator

c. Osagie Emmanuel Ehanire (Hon. Minister of Health)

d. Rauf Aregbesola (Hon. Minister of Interior)

e. Hadi Sirika (Hon. Minister of Aviation)

f. Sadiya Umar Farouk (Hon. Minister of Humanitarian Affairs, Disaster Management and Social Services)

g. Adamu Adamu (Hon. Minister of Education)

h. Lai Mohammed (Hon. Minister of Information and Culture)

i. Suleiman Hassan Hon. Minister of Environment

j. Yusuf Magaji Bichi Director-General, State Services

k. Dr. Chikwe Ihekweazu (Director-General, Nigeria Centre for Disease Control)

l. Dr Wondimagegnehu Alemu (WHO Country Representative)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Politics7 months ago

Ex- Super Eagles Players Praise Asiwaju Tinubu’s Contributions to Nigeria, Sports

Former Nigeria’s international football players have commended All Progressives Congress National Leader, Asíwájú Bola Tinubu, for his contributions to democracy...

News7 months ago

Obiano’s wife was drunk – Bianca Ojukwu opens up on ‘valedictory slap’

Bianca, the wife of late Odumegwu Ojukwu, has explained why she slapped Ebele Obiano at the inauguration ceremony of Prof....

Politics7 months ago

Kaduna govt directs appointees seeking political office to resign

The Kaduna State Government has directed all political appointees and public servants aspiring for political offices in the 2023 general...

News7 months ago

Buhari approves new NBC board

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the reconstitution of the Governing Board of the National Broadcasting Commission, NBC, following the expiration...

News7 months ago

Police arrest 2 soldiers, 3 others for robbing POS agent in Borno

The police in Borno have arrested five suspects, including two soldiers for alleged armed robbery and culpable homicide. Commissioner of...

News7 months ago

Terrorists kill DPO, 2 other policemen, 4 vigilantes in Niger

Suspected bandit terrorists have again hit Niger State, during which a Divisional Police Officer, DPO, two of his officers and four vigilante members were killed.  The...

Politics7 months ago

PDP will die in 2023 if it loses election – Atiku

Atiku Abubakar, a former Vice President, has said that the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) might not survive another eight...

News7 months ago

Presidency blames ‘Jonathan’ govt for recent national grid collapse

The Presidency has blamed the immediate past administration for the recent collapse of the nation’s power system. President Buhari’s Personal...

Uncategorized7 months ago

Mrs Dolapo in Maiduguri, marks Osinbajo’s birthday at North East Children’s Centre

Wife of the Vice President, Mrs Dolapo Osinbajo, was in Maiduguri on Monday to visit the North East Children’s Learning...

News10 months ago

Zulum to commission 22 schools, other projects in southern Borno

Governor Babagana Zulum of Borno has begun a five-day official visit to the southern part of the state to inaugurate...



Copyright © 2018 Daily correspondents